Day 86: Planning, Sorry-Not-Sorry

Tuesday, 13 December 2016

img_20161213_153648.jpg

Today, I worked with my planning partner on a JanTerm project to build a photo booth using a Raspberry Pi and a touchscreen. The directions were missing several crucial details, so I dumped them in a Google Doc and added the needed info.

One of the problems building stuff in class, especially when it stretches the kids, is that frustration sets in easier. We saw this last year and some of the most thoughtful feedback on the subject was “choose projects with good, detailed instructions.” Hopefully my work pays off in January!

It’s finals week and we were fortunate to get our “bye” day proctoring together so we could do this work.

And a sorry-not-sorry moment: I’ve missed a bunch of blog-a-day posts this semester. There are pictures for a number of them and half-written blogs for a few of those. I’ve decided to dump the drafts because I’d rather be focused on the now. Enjoy a few unpublished photos from my media gallery:

I’ve also been leaking exam hints on my Instagram:

Exam hint 1 of n

A post shared by Megan Hayes-Golding (@megtheteach) on

Exam hint 2: what do you notice as this wave pulse moves from the giant slinky to the smaller snakey?

A post shared by Megan Hayes-Golding (@megtheteach) on

Exam hint 3: what can you tell me about Spidey's image?

A post shared by Megan Hayes-Golding (@megtheteach) on

Exam hint 4: What's the frequency of each of the colors of visible light, in terahertz? Leave your answers in the comments.

A post shared by Megan Hayes-Golding (@megtheteach) on

Leave a Reply

