Day 45: Microfeedback

Wednesday, 21 October 2015

Screen Shot 2015-10-21 at 6.02.04 PM

The view from my inbox currently looks like this.

Asked the kids to respond to one question via email today. I started gathering microfeedback earlier in the semester and loved the results. Today’s question: “When I can’t figure out a homework problem, I _______________.” My encouragement was to talk about how they feel or what they actually do (or both!).

One of my goals this year is to develop more independent learners. A primary strategy I’m using is getting them to check the online textbook, Physics Classroom, before asking me.

I absolutely love microfeedback because not only will I get useful feedback for now but I can use the results as data for tracking progress toward my goal*.

* shoutout to Chris Coleman, a former boss who taught me pretty much everything can be measured.

Leave a Reply

