Day 25: Advance Notice

Wednesday, 17 September 2014

Sent_Items

I’m testing early next week in all classes so I sent the above email to my students. Because they’re unaccustomed to the relative freedom of high school, I spent the warmup time today fielding additional questions they have. Most common question? “Can we write anything on our formula sheets?” Most annoying question? “When’s our test?”

This message brought up an interesting question: how do I interact with students who are relatively new to the whole email-as-a-profesional-tool game? My answer: carefully. Teacher emails should value conciseness, clarity, and completeness. One of my biggest annoyances about being in a 1:1 laptop school is the way we rely far too much on quickly-sent-but-poorly-conceived email messages. I want to change that tendency among my colleagues so the kids better know what’s going on around them.

Leave a Reply

