Day 3: Slinky Waves

Friday, 15 August 2014

Forgot a picture today so I'll post something that made me smile on the first day of school.

Forgot a picture today so I’ll post something that made me smile on the first day of school.

I asked the kids today what a wave is. A number of them made a wiggling motion with their hand in front of their face. They all struggled for the right words but eventually got to “moves”, “energy”, and “repeating” which I figure isn’t a bad start.

Next we grabbed a giant slinky and went into the hall. I asked them to stretch the slinky about 3 meters across the floor then to make a transverse wave. “A what?” they said. They knew “transcontinental railroad”, so we went from there to get at the prefix trans-. They got it! Then they illustrated properties such as frequency and amplitude even though they didn’t have the vocab yet.

In between and after there was traditional note-taking — a part of class I’d like to minimize.

Leave a Reply

