Day 2: Syllabus Quiz

Thursday, 14 August 2014

image

The hardest part of 180-blogging in the second year is remembering to take photos on a daily. Oh and also feeling like you’re doing enough new stuff to warrant publishing all over again. Ok, so that’s two things.

In the above picture is the student center near my front door. I moved my turn-in trays (the right cubby above) next to the student center with the staplers. This should streamline turning in quizzes and tests plus avoid the traffic jam at my desk on the other side of the room.

Today I gave a Moodle syllabus quiz. The idea was to acclimate the new freshmen to the online quizzing and paper correction system I use. In an attempt to let the kids practice the calculation problems we’ll do this year, I gave them a simple math problem:

Screen Shot 2014-08-18 at 8.46.17 PM

 

This is a great opportunity to see their mathematical thinking. I saw three types of responses:

  • √(130) because…math class
  • 11 because the problem gave them two whole numbers, so the answer should be a whole number — great thinking and in the world of significant figures is technically correct, right? But I just hate losing that 0.4 on the answer.
  • 11.4 because it’s a reasonable amount of precision given the problem, also the answer I was expecting

After the quiz, I went back and gave full credit for the last two. Moodle rejected the first one because the input field requires numbers only.

Leave a Reply

