Day 137: Video & Presentations

Wednesday, 26 March 2014

IMG_20140326_111550

I volunteered my 6th period class to be part of a school promotional video. Above, the viedographer and director help the kids look natural while wearing the safety glasses they’ve never seen before (but look sufficiently science-y to go on) and the lab materials they won’t use until tomorrow. Apparently, fake it till you make it isn’t something these kids know about.

IMG_20140326_124916

Meanwhile, 7th period finished their classwork and presented one problem. We had a sheet of ~5 force problems. I asked every kid to draw the free body diagram for each and solve one problem that I assigned them. Groups of two presented their one problem to the class. As usual, I was disappointed with presentations and am prepared to abandon them again for the foreseeable future because the kids goof off too much. Ugh, I know the value of practicing communicating your knowledge but can’t bring myself to “waste” class time on this goofing. I know that I need to figure out a better way to develop communication skills.

 

Leave a Reply

