Day 122: Hit Me With Your Best Shot

Wednesday, 26 February 2014

One lab group getting the horizontal velocity of their projectile.

One lab group getting the horizontal velocity of their projectile.

One of my four classes started their projectile motion lab today. The lab is called Hit Your Teacher in the Face, but I think I’ll change it next year to Hit Me With Your Best Shot. They’re trying to hit me right on the nose:

Screen Shot 2014-02-27 at 2.23.07 PM

I give them a ramp (actually, right angle moulding), a steel ball bearing, and a meter stick. I ask them to decide what info to measure and how to do it. They’re not allowed to send the ball bearing off the table before calling me over. Here’s one group doing the testing:

My colleague uses carbon paper to get a better mark of the initial impact location. She’s much smarter than me, who tries to eyeball it.

2 thoughts on “Day 122: Hit Me With Your Best Shot

  1. Pingback: Day 144: Hit Me with Your Best Shot! | Physics180: A photo-a-day blog

  2. Pingback: Day 149: Hit Me with Your Best Shot | Physics180: A photo-a-day blog

Leave a Reply

