Day 115: Your Consequence

Monday, 17 February 2014

IMG_20140221_091020

A former colleague of mine has this sign in her classroom: “Your consequence for not doing the assignment is doing the assignment.” This post is about that sign’s message.

About a third of my students blew off their snow day assignment from last week. Only one had a really good excuse — his power was out for the entire 48 hours we were out of school. So, after consulting with my department chair, I “invited” them all to spend office hours with me Monday and Tuesday to make up for the time they didn’t give me over the snow days. Here’s the email I sent:

Because you didn’t complete your snow day assignment, I need you to attend office hours after school on Monday and Tuesday to make up both the time and the assignment. You owe me a total of 60 minutes missed class time plus a completed assignment. Even if you complete the assignment before Monday, please report to my room.

I appreciate my department chair’s idea because it respects the kids who did their work and doesn’t get me into a blame game with those who didn’t. Most kids didn’t have a valid excuse, so this is kind of like a detention for them. 

Leave a Reply

