Day 62: Lens Lab

Tuesday, 12 October 2013

2013-11-19 09.35.27

After measuring image distance and height, I asked students to choose an appropriate application (last column).

2013-11-19 09.36.24

This question is hard for my students. I wanted them to see that for a convex lens, as object distance approaches infinity that image distance approaches the focal length.

Today was all about working on the lens lab, which I’m about 85% happy with. I love the fact the kids can figure out the focal length of the lens they choose from my tray-o-lenses (not pictured). I especially enjoy the applications part pictured above — after measuring an image distance and height, I ask them to choose an application. Kids need to realize that a movie projector requires the image to be magnified while a camera requires the image to be reduced. They seem to enjoy it, too.

This lab takes us about 1.5 periods (70 minutes each) but because of my rotating schedule, the kids don’t have class daily. Some other kids worked the lens lab yesterday.

 

Leave a Reply

