Day 24: Open Work Day

Tuesday, 17 September 2013

image

Here’s the deal: I had several assignments out with kids, including a research paper and a classwork assignment. Kids were all over the place in terms of understanding and completion. What to do? List out our priorities and let ’em at it.

I always feel like these open work days come off as me not working. Like I’m supposed to be teaching stuff. Ah, insecurities.

Today, I realized several kids missed the boat on a few key ideas. To spot these issues earlier, I’m thinking of instituting a “show me one” plan where kids must demonstrate one of several classwork problems to me face-to-face.

How do you structure practice time? How do you find the kids who hide their lack of understanding?

 

2 thoughts on “Day 24: Open Work Day

  1. Pingback: Day 31: Show Me One | Physics180

  2. Pingback: Physics180: A photo-a-day blog | Day 24: WarmUps

Leave a Reply

